Wyoming County added to program to receive federal drug funds

[image] Wyoming County joins McDowell, Mercer and 12 other West Virginia counties in a program that brings federal funding to the war against the illegal sale of prescription pills.

U.S. Rep. Nick J. Rahall (D-W.Va.) announced on Thursday that Wyoming County will be included in the Appalachia High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA).  The status enables the County to receive additional Federal resources to further the coordination and development of drug control efforts.

"Drug abuse and trafficking and the crime that accompanies it requires a coordinated response across all levels of government," said Rahall. "I am working hard to ensure our State's law enforcement officials have access to the resources and training and information that they need to help them protect our communities."

The new HIDTA designation will increase access to federal resources and information sharing in southern West Virginia. Law enforcement organizations within HIDTAs assess drug-trafficking problems and design specific initiatives to decrease the production, manufacture, transportation, distribution, and chronic use of drugs and money laundering.

"With the ever growing plague of prescription pill diversion this designation could not come at a better time," said West Virginia State Police Chief of Field Services, Major T.D. Bradley. "We are very grateful to Congressman Rahall, who has worked tirelessly with ONDCP to get this designation which provides resources to our state."

With Wyoming County, the Appalachia HIDTA includes fifteen West Virginia counties, including nine in southern West Virginia:  Boone, Brooke, Cabell, Hancock, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Ohio, Putnam, and Wayne Counties. 

© Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVNS