Raleigh County Students Named U.S. Presidential Scholars - Beckley, Bluefield & Lewisburg News, Weather, Sports

Raleigh County Students Named U.S. Presidential Scholars

Posted: Updated:
Nicole Hegele Nicole Hegele
Each year 120 high school seniors are chosen to be U.S. Presidential Scholars, and only two are chosen from West Virginia. This year, both of these exceptional students are from Raleigh County.

Nicole Hegele is a senior at Shady Spring High School. David Buch is a senior at Woodrow Wilson. They were chosen from a field of 3,000 students to receive this honor. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our nations most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Both Nicole and David are the only students in their school's history to receive this honor. 

To commemorate their achievement, they will be awarded the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. They'll get an all expense paid trip to Washington D.C. where they'll also meet President Obama.