Residents are restricted from Burning

Archives
9237477_G_923747771

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The majority of West Virginia is under a wind advisory and Division of Forestry officials are asking state residents to refrain from burning until windy conditions subside. Although it is legal to burn after 5 p.m., state foresters recommend holding off on any outdoor burning at this time.

Anyone who starts a fire that escapes and causes a wildfire or forest fire is subject to fines ranging from $100 to $1,000. An additional civil penalty of $200 also will be assessed. If a fire does escape, call 911 immediately.

To find out more about West Virginia’s burning laws, visit the Division of Forestry’s website,www.wvforestry.com or wvforestry on Facebook.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories