Virginia Tech Recognizes Employees for Combined 14,400 Years of Service

VT Employee Recognition_1525109739619.JPG.jpg

Virginia Tech is recognizing 776 employees for their commitment to service and for exemplifying our motto Ut Prosim (That I May Serve).   Collectively, these employees have dedicated 14,400 years of service to the university.

The service recognition program acknowledges employees’ service to the university in five-year increments, beginning at 10 years of service.   Of the employees recognized this year, the following 38 have served Virginia Tech for 40 years or more:

60 Years:

  • Helen B. Williams, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Amherst County

45 Years:

  • Michael D. Alexander, School of Education
  • Carolyne S. Dudding, ROTC Navy
  • Carolyn R. Flinchum, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Kim C. Harich, Department of Biochemistry
  • Thomas E. Hines, Agricultural Research and Extension Centers – Eastern Shore
  • Philip S. Keffer, Department of Animal and Poultry Science
  • Sandra J. Merrix, University Bursar Office
  • Neil L. Shumsky, Department of History
  • Thorwald N. Tideman, Department of Economics
  • Randolph W. Ward, School for Performing Arts

40 Years:

  • Julia S. Action, Undergraduate Advising
  • Bonne D. Akers, Student Engagement and Campus Life Administration
  • Terri A. Bourdon, Department of Mathematics
  • Anthony J. Colaianne, Department of English
  • Cynthia D. Crawford, University Academic Advising Center
  • Karen S. Dove, Department of Biochemistry
  • Kenneth D. Farrar, Geospatial Information Systems and Plans Library
  • Virginia C. Fowler, Department of English
  • Ricky D. Kipps, Facilities Department, Building and Grounds
  • Fred C. Lee, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • John W. Long, Facilities Department, Building and Grounds
  • Thomas J. McAvoy, Department of Entomology
  • Rodney B. McGuyer, Facilities Department, Building and Grounds
  • Nancy A. Metz, Department of English
  • John M. Pinkerton, Department of Finance, Insurance and Business Law
  • Saifur Rahman, Advanced Research Institute
  • Hans C. Rott, School of Architecture and Design
  • Robert P. Schubert, The College of Architecture and Urban Studies
  • Gerhardt G. Schurig, Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology
  • Margaret G. Sentelle, University Controller
  • James R. Sochinski, School of Performing Arts
  • Walter F. Thompson, Agricultural Research and Extension Centers – Southern Piedmont
  • John J. Tyson, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Roy O. Vickers, Jr., Systems Engineering and Administration
  • Lucien B. Ward Jr., Enterprise Systems Management
  • Nancy J. Weaver, University Libraries
  • Julie H. Wesel, Hokie Passport Office

A complete list of employees being recognized this year is available online.   Virginia Tech publicly thanked employees for their service through an ad published in the Roanoke Times New River Valley section on Friday, April 27, 2018.

This year’s program reflected changes based on feedback from previously recognized employees including:

  • Receptions for employees with 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years of service.
  • A dinner for employees with 40 or more years of service.
  • Employees with 25 years or more of service received an etched Hokie stone.   Starting at 40 years of service, the Hokie stone includes the employee’s name.
  • All recognized employees also receive a service pin and certificate.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

West Virginia News

More West Virginia News

Virginia News

More Virginia News

Trending Stories