New hours for burn laws in effect

Greenbrier County
burn laws.jpg

LEWISBURG, WV (WVNS) —  Now that we are out of fire season, burn law hours have changed once again.

However,  before you go and burn a pile of brush,  there are some guidelines that must be followed.

People are now permitted to burn 24 hours, seven days a week. However, the fire must be attended at all times; there must be a 10 foot safety strip around the fire, and no burning within 25 feet of a structure.

Lewisburg Fire Chief Joe Thomas explained some cities, like Lewisburg, have a burn application permit that must be filled out.

“Go to city hall, fill out the application and a member of the fire department will come out, take a look at the pile and sign off on it. That lets us know that something inside the city we know will be burned in a two week span,” Thomas said.

Yard debris is the only thing that is permitted to be burned – no trash, tires or construction materials.

You can burn for 24 hours until October 1, 2018. The fire department asked that you call the non-emergency number at your 911 center before burning.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

West Virginia News

More West Virginia News

Virginia News

More Virginia News

Trending Stories